The year that was 2011

Tower ruins, Mui Ne, Vietnam, July 2011

 

As I’ve written in my post as I bid 2011 goodbye and welcomed 2012, 2011 was a year of somehow settling down, calming down. So I don’t know if there’s much to write about in the year that just ended. However, here are some highlights.

I miss blogging. I have not blogged or written down anything the whole of 2011. Well, I did write but of all it were papers for academic work. Although I keep a journal where I write my innermost thoughts and feelings but I stopped after a few entries. I guess I got so lazy and also so busy with school and office work (Aha! That’s a contradiction, eh?) that I have not opened my account for the longest time.

Paper Presentation. In May 2011, I had the opportunity to share the results of my research in the annual convention of guidance counselors. It was a first for me and I hope that it won’t be the last.

Travel. In July, I had the chance to travel with my mom to Vietnam. We stayed there for almost a week. We explored Ho Chi Minh City and Mui Ne, a seaside town about 6 hours away from the city. We sampled the delicious Vietnamese cuisine. I especially loved the pho (rice noodles), spring rolls, bahn mi, and many others. I was also amazed how cheap the fruits were. I heard that the coffee was awesome; too bad I don’t drink. There’s shopping too! Oh yes, going to Vietnam is a bit inexpensive compared to other countries. I would definitely like to go back but this time, to Hanoi.

Studies. This has taken most of my time this year. I’m not complaining because it was my decision to engage in further studies. The learning process is just amazing. However, it does get toxic and stressful at times, especially when accomplishing requirements and beating deadlines.

Hellos and goodbyes. This is really part and parcel of life, isn’t? There is a time for meeting new people, welcoming new additions in the family but there is also a time for goodbyes – temporarily or permanently.

Leave a comment