Reflecting on 2010: Lessons Learned

Nami Island, South Korea, October 2010

At the end of each year, I usually write about my reflections on how the year has been for me. I must warn that this entry might be sentimental or overly-dramatic, so those who are not inclined to be on the emotional side, kindly veer away from this post. Ha ha!

For this entry, I would like to share some quotes that would best describe the lessons that I’ve learned this 2010:

“Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass but learning to dance in the rain.”

Life has its ups and downs and it can really be a b*tch sometimes. For several years, I have been struggling and there were times that I was really on the verge. Those who know me know what I’m talking about it here. But I managed to hold on, with the help of family and friends, and of course God. I have learned to cope, “to dance in the rain.”

“One day at a time.”

This is one maxim that has helped me get through the difficult times. I kept on thinking that I cannot handle everything in just one go. There’s no reason for me to act like a hero and do everything in just a flash.

“Positive pictures come out from negatives developed in a darkroom. So if you find yourself lonely and in dark, understand that – Life is working on a beautiful picture for you.”

I took comfort in the fact that every dark cloud has its silver lining and that every Good Friday has its Easter Sunday. With perseverance and patience, there will be rewards. And boy, this is so true. I was just so overwhelmed with all the blessings that have come my way. When God plans, he does it so beautifully and perfectly.

“Laugh often. Laugh your heart out.”

Laughter has also helped me through trying times this year. It helped that I have friends who can joke about things. They made me laugh when sometimes it was impossible to do so. People noticed that when I laugh, I laugh heartily (read: guffaw). This is something that I learned from a former professor, who laughs without restrictions. I figured that laughing should not be restricted, constricted or forced. It should come from the heart.

“Prayers can move mountains.”

Prayer has helped me with all that has happened to me throughout the year. It is one form of therapy. I don’t think I could have managed it all without prayers and of course, God’s help. There is a God; He is always with us and He will never abandon us.

I hope that these lessons will be of help, if the time comes. 2011 is another beginning, let’s welcome it with hope and with a big smile.

Have a Grace-filled New Year!

Leave a Reply

