My To-Do List for 2011

It has always been my practice to write my to-do list at the beginning of every year. For a quick review, this is my to-do list for 2010:

  1. Work on breaking my paper down to chunks and submit for publication or presentation – NO PROGRESS!
  2. Involve myself in research project/s – NO PROGRESS!
  3. Possibly enroll in another Master’s program or well, PHD program – SUCCESS! I’m currently enrolled in a PHD program in UP
  4. Travel more (and possibly with my mom) – SUCCESS! One local and 2 international travels! Winner!
  5. Spend less – EPIC FAIL!
  6. Save more – DOUBLE EPIC FAIL!
  7. Get in shape and shed off pounds gained during the holidays– I have to attend to two weddings (as of my last count) – PARTIAL SUCCESS! I did manage to shed off some pounds for my sister’s wedding but gained weight at the end of the year. By the way, I attended 3 out of 5 weddings this 2010.
  8. Read at least one book or two books per month – PARTIAL SUCCESS! I managed to read only 11 books this year; I lacked one book to complete the one book per month requirement. *sigh*
  9. Be active in community service again. – SUCCESS! Nothing beats being active in the parish and community!
  10. Work on my 4 secret tasks – SUCCESS! I managed to accomplish these 4 secret tasks although these  yielded different results – pleasant and unpleasant. No matter, the important thing is I have finished all the tasks.

For 2011, here is my to-do list:

  1. Travel. – One local and one international. For the local trip, I would like to go somewhere I have never traveled before, like Sagada, Mt. Pulag or Batanes? I would certainly like to go back to the US but if it does not materialize, I would settle for one Asian destination.
  2. Get in shape. Stay Healthy. – I will watch what I eat and exercise (Good luck to me!). I have managed to lose weight the last time because I went on a diet. I will continue with such program but this time, with walking. This also means that I have to be an obedient patient when it comes to doctor’s appointments and such.
  3. Work on breaking my paper down to chunks and submit for publication or presentation. – I really, really have to do this, this year. Otherwise, I’m dead!
  4. Be involved in a research project. – I really, really have to this one too or else, I’m dead!
  5. Work on publishable articles. – This I really need to do as well.
  6. Read at least one book per month. – I will just stick to the one book per month rule. I would be happy if this 2011; I’d be able to read 12 books.
  7. Seriously start with my saving programs. – I’m not getting any younger and I have to think of the future. I really have to start with these (I’m thinking of three); but I still have to study and choose the best programs.
  8. Work! Work! Work! – Meaning Raket! Raket! Raket! However, this is questionable as I don’t know if I’ll have the energy to do this. Provided that I won’t get sick as well!
  9. Study! Study! Study! – I really have to study well for my PHD subjects. This is going to be one helluva journey. I wince every time I ponder on how long this is going to take me to finish and how hard this is going to be.
  10. Settle/decide on a definite workplace. I have to decide by the end of 2011 where I am to go. That’s too far anyways, 2011 is just about to start. A lot of things can happen, right?

So, how about you? Do you have a to-do list for 2011? Care to share?

2 comments on “My To-Do List for 2011

  1. Haha. Natawa ako sa epic fail. And I like how Spend less and Save more follow each other. Your 2011 to-do list give an impression that you’re going to be very busy. The whole publication thing sounds exciting. I have to say if I ever write a resolution/to-dolist I might include point 10 too. However, at the moment I’m trying to ignore it and just focus on finishing my MA. I’m hoping that by the end of my MA program I have a feel of where I want to be in terms of career. I hope you get to do them all. Good luck ma’am. 🙂

    • Hi Mary. Yeah, my to-do list gives an impression that I’m not going to sleep at all. haha. Seriously, I want to do lots of things but the real question is, will I have the energy and time to accomplish some of it?
      The publication thing has been in my to-do lists for two years already, I seriously have to do something about it.
      Yes, I hope that by the time you finish your MA, everything will be clearer to you. Thank you for your kind wishes. Good luck to you too!

Leave a comment